Automated Software for a non-programmer?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Bycote, Aug 25, 2016.

1. Bycote

Bycote

Howdy everyone,

A little background on myself - I'm a professional engineer who trades as a hobby. My trading experience is in swing trading stocks long in bull markets and shorting penny stock scams in any market. My future plans (5 year horizon) include learning and starting to trade futures and options.

Interactive Brokers is my broker of choice, though I also have an account with SureTrader.

I have recently begun learning about automated trading and I am interested in trying it with a small portion of my portfolio. I am having some difficulty researching this trading strategy, as every google search I can think of inevitably returns several obvious scams in the results. I'm hoping you can help me safely navigate these waters!

I am simply looking for some legit automated trading platforms that work with Interactive Brokers and that can be used and customized by a non-programmer. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thank you,

Bycote

2. sprstpd

sprstpd

If you are a professional engineer, then do yourself a favor and learn the basics of programming.

Then try platforms like QuantConnect or Quantopian to test strategies.

lovethetrade likes this.
  3. kmiklas

kmiklas

(EDIT: Apologies, I missed the "non-programmer" part of your post. I will leave this comment here for posterity)

If you're with Interactive Brokers, then you're half-way there. They have a solid API. You can code your stuff in C#, Java, VB, and C++. Check here:
    http://interactivebrokers.github.io/tws-api/#gsc.tab=0

Hopefully you've touched one of those languages before, and can code a simple buy/sell algorithm to get started.