Amibroker options backtest

Discussion in 'App Development' started by jumpingfella, May 12, 2017.

1. Hello,

I'm evaluating Amibroker for backtesting options strategies.
    Can anybody please point me to a simple example on how this can be done? Their support told me that they can't provide it right now.

Also, please don't try to sell me your consulting, I'm a programmer myself, it's just not obvious on how I can select option chain and strike in amibroker's API.

I found some Indian code, where it's done like this: _N( Symbol1= ParamStr("Strike1", "NIFTY14MAR6000CE") );

Obviously, options symbol will be different for SPY/SPX/etc, expiration and strike as well.

Regards, Stepan.

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

How valuable and accurate do you find backtesting options strategies? I believe that looking at old bid/ask spreads makes it difficult to make assumptions on where and when you can find liquidity. And, the bigger your AUM, the larger the transactions size and the more uncertainty.

3. For SPY or AAPL liquidity is not an issue if I'm targeting not more than 100 contracts per trade.

4. Wanted to add: I can probably connect external options pricer into amibroker...did anybody do something like this before?

5. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

I agree, but what price do you assume? Do you use the middle point of the NBBO or worst case being the offer for buy orders and the bid for sell orders?

6. I'd rather test worst case scenario

7. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Thank you for your responses.

8. Your best bet for backtesting option strategies is to open an account with TOSwim and use their ticker by ticker on-demand feature. You would load ticker 1, and use the FF/rew button and do what-if analysis.. then you move on to the next ticker.