Already profitable, what's next?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by metatrader54, Jun 6, 2018.

1. Hi all,

I have been trading since 2014 and have turned profitable, pretty much positive every week since this year but on a small account, average monthly growth is about 5-10%, risk per trade is 1%. My performance isn't perfect but I follow my system, I miss some trades, mess up on trade management, but I always focus on risk management first.

What is next for me? Goal is to turn full time but that will take quite a while so I would like to ask what the next step for me is? Keep topping up my account with my main income source for every positive month? I do not have 100k, or 50k to spare, I am quite poor as my main income source is low but I am able to save a couple hundreds or a thousand each month. I do not have a wife or kids.

My statistics are not very good but more than enough to make $ and it seems I will always look for ways to improve my "edge", how do you guys trade the same system in and out all day?

Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
    VPhantom likes this.
  2. qxr1011

qxr1011

continue, the answers will come up

nickynoes, VPhantom, comagnum and 6 others like this.
  3. EsKiller

EsKiller

Trading is stressful. Never go full time if your intention is for it to be your main source of income. Too many things can go wrong.

4. tomorton

tomorton

What about increasing the time-frame? If the system works and risk is manageable on 15-min charts, what will it do on 4-hourlies? Then you could go off and do something else.

ElectricSavant, VPhantom and treeman like this.
  5. bone

bone

5 months consistency is a good starting point - why would you now consider altering anything at this point since you started on this journey 4 years ago?

IMO, consistency is your primary goal. Consistency is your mantra.

With consistency you will build your account equity, you will gain confidence, you will be able to gradually increase your position sizing.