A day in the life of a real trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Squeal Trader, Jun 18, 2014.

1. Hi guys welcome to this thread.

I've been trading for 2 years now full time and will attempt to live call them in this post and see how things go. I trade a variety of futures including equities, currencies and bonds. I will try to keep this blog as updated as best as i can.

I am normally in and out by the end of the day (6pm gmt) and I will post my strategies for the day with a short analysis as to why i favour a certain direction before i enter. I hate hindsight trading.

Hopefully this can give some of the guys here an idea as to the ups and downs of a pro trader and how often losses actually occur.

Black Dash = Entry
    Red line = Stop
    Green lines = Target 1 & 2.

My entry will always be a few pips before actual entry and my stop with be approx 4-6 ticks beyond the stop. I never place my actual orders on the line.

So here goes! Will post my first strat shortly

2. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

I'm very curious as to why do you call yourself a "pro trader" ?

3. Good question - maybe pro is the wrong word as theoretically everyone is a trade away from getting wiped out. I guess am more accurately a full time trader.

I think ive chosen the wrong day to start this journal as I expect these markets are going to be pretty quiet leading into the FOMC statement tonight at 7pm. I've been bearish this euro ever since Drahgi's forward guidance 2 weeks ago and am amazed why we are still hanging around just below 136 and have not made a new year low. If anyone has any idea as to why this euro is still up here please enlighten me.

4. What are you going to trade?Market is dead:eek:

5. tom_czr

tom_czr

Market is dead? No way! I see gzilions of opportunities :D