FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home
 
    Forums > Tools of the Trade > Trading Software > TDAmeritrade ripping us off?


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 11:14 AM   #1
tdatspectral
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 47
I've been using TDAmeritrade since about 2001, maybe before. During this time I've been actively trading about 4 or 5 different periods lasting maybe 3-6 months each so I'm not the most active trader by any means.

I've observed a pattern and I'm wondering who else has noticed this. EVERYTIME there is a critical juncture in the markets, TDAmeritrade becomes "inaccessible" for the day. By that I mean I cannot get streaming data or sometimes even quotes. This has the effect of making it impossible to trade with any accuracy, especially when selling or closing a position.

The most recently happened on July 28 when the market was at a lowest point and I needed to sell my puts but couldn't find a price. The next day the puts were worthless.

I'll usually call support and in the past they have tried to blame the Command Center software. Most recently I was using their "Trade Architect" software and it was experiencing the same problem except even worse, I couldn't get any quotes for options. (I mostly trade options). This was one of the few times they acknowledged they had a problem and didn't try to blame my system.

I've been in IT for over 25 years and I know instinctively the problem exists with their servers. I've verified it wasn't my computer or DSL. I won't bother to go into the technical details.

I believe they are coordinated with some shadowy force to screw traders, as this ALWAYS happens at those critical days when I need to take an action, as in 'NEED'. So when I googled TDAmeritrade complaints or problems I find there are many instances of TDA doing harm to individuals.

Am I the only one who has been seeing this pattern?
    Quote
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 11:15 AM   #2
stock777
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 15,949
they prob dont want you to sell your 5 shares of SIRI when the market is crashing.
    Quote
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 11:34 AM   #3
arbs-r-us
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 439
Quote:
Quote from stock777:

they prob dont want you to sell your 5 shares of SIRI when the market is crashing.
lol!!!!!
    Quote
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 11:37 AM   #4
colion
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 88
tdat, as a TDAmeritrade customer can you use ThinkorSwim? I have not heard any complaints about them.
    Quote
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 12:15 PM   #5
Cdntrader
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,632
Quote:
Quote from tdatspectral:

I've been using TDAmeritrade since about 2001, maybe before. During this time I've been actively trading about 4 or 5 different periods lasting maybe 3-6 months each so I'm not the most active trader by any means.

I've observed a pattern and I'm wondering who else has noticed this. EVERYTIME there is a critical juncture in the markets, TDAmeritrade becomes "inaccessible" for the day. By that I mean I cannot get streaming data or sometimes even quotes. This has the effect of making it impossible to trade with any accuracy, especially when selling or closing a position.

The most recently happened on July 28 when the market was at a lowest point and I needed to sell my puts but couldn't find a price. The next day the puts were worthless.

I'll usually call support and in the past they have tried to blame the Command Center software. Most recently I was using their "Trade Architect" software and it was experiencing the same problem except even worse, I couldn't get any quotes for options. (I mostly trade options). This was one of the few times they acknowledged they had a problem and didn't try to blame my system.

I've been in IT for over 25 years and I know instinctively the problem exists with their servers. I've verified it wasn't my computer or DSL. I won't bother to go into the technical details.

I believe they are coordinated with some shadowy force to screw traders, as this ALWAYS happens at those critical days when I need to take an action, as in 'NEED'. So when I googled TDAmeritrade complaints or problems I find there are many instances of TDA doing harm to individuals.

Am I the only one who has been seeing this pattern?


TD is a MARKETING firm not a reputable professional brokerage firm
    Quote
Old Aug 5th, 2013, 01:44 PM   #6
opt789
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,132
I have been using thinkorswim for many years, and only very rarely have had any problems. There were times in the past where they went through a couple rough patches, but they have been solid for quite a while now.

As was already posted, you need to switch to the thinkorswim desktop software.

Your conspiracy theories sound rather far-fetched. There are times when markets get really busy and quotes can slow down for a couple seconds, but I have seen that on most every platform I have tested at one time or another.
    Quote
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump



   Conduct Rules   Privacy Policy   Sitemap Copyright © 2014, Elite Trader. All rights reserved.   

WHILE YOU'RE HERE, TAKE A MINUTE TO VISIT SOME OF OUR SPONSORS:
Advantage Futures
Futures Trading & Clearing
Alpha 7 Trading Academy
Proprietary Trading Education
AMP Global Clearing
Futures and FX Trading
Bright Trading
Professional Equities Trading
CTS
Futures Trading Software
DaytradingBias.com
Professional Trading Analytics
ECHOtrade
Professional Trading Firm
eSignal
Trading Software Provider
FXCM
Forex Trading Services
Global Futures
Futures, Options & FX Trading
Interactive Brokers
Pro Gateway to World Markets
JC Trading Group
Direct Access Trading
MB Trading
Direct Access Trading
MultiCharts
Trading Software Provider
NinjaTrader
Trading Software Provider
OANDA
Currency Trading
optionshouse
Option Trading & Education
Rithmic
Futures Trade Execution Platform
SpeedTrader
Direct Access Trading
SpreadProfessor
Spread Trading Instruction
thinkorswim by TD Ameritrade
Direct Access TradingAdvertisement
TradersStudio
System Building & Backtesting
Trading Technologies
Trading Software Provider
Trend Following
Trading Systems Provider