HOME FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE BOOKS CONTACT US
Elite Trader Your Account  •  Become a Member  •  Help  •  Search    
    Forums ›› Direct-Access Brokers ›› Prop Firms ›› WTS Proprietary Trading Group LLC, Miami FL  


Post A Reply
    Page 1 of 7:   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  
chrisacosta00
 

Registered: Aug 2012
Posts: 2

 

08-24-12 06:09 PM

So I recently went through an interview with WTS PTG here in Miami. I'm guessing they are a relatively new office since I have yet to find anything online about them. I'm a bit concerned about how legit and how much its really worth my time to go through the training and find the money for it. I'm graduating now at the end of the year with a BA in Finance and Economics. I have no experience in trading or stocks aside from trading my own personal account. I would love to get some real world experience in the industry. These are the numbers they gave me.

200 a month desk fees
325 one time Training and licensing fee (series 56)

Once licensed I would need to fund my account with 2000 and they give me 100,000 buying power. I was also told is .35 for every 1k trades.

Does this sound legit? Is the the norm when it comes to prop shops? I'm a student and I'm a bartender as my current job. $2525 isn't easy to come by. Please give me some feedback on what you think, or if anyone works for them that would be great also. Thank you

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
thunderbolttr
 

Registered: Aug 2010
Posts: 156

 

08-24-12 10:45 PM

What you described sounds like a pretty normal/decent deal for those types of prop firms. Just based on the statistics, though, you need to be able to fully lose all of the money you allocate to trading (since that's a pretty common outcome for new traders) so if you're not yet at that point where you can bear that risk, you should consider postponing starting until a later point.

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
Satan's Helper
 

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 154

 

08-24-12 11:04 PM

Hey, I would be very careful in Miami! That place is a third world country and full of scams.. I haven't been there in a while but you might want to try:



These are all good firms...

Wasserman is less heard of but is run by a very successful trader (He makes 7 figures a year from trading and can go years with out a loosing day). Real tough to beat his consistency.

Bright has a really good pairs trading system and you could contact Don Bright directly here to see what type of a deal you can get.

As for Schonfeld they are hard to get into but require no deposit!

All of these are in the Miami Beach area.. Just be careful in Miami or with any South Florida Firm or Business for that matter. You could check out www.sunbiz.org to see if they are legit and check their background with the SEC.

Finally don't just look at the deal.... Are these people going to be around after they get your deposit?

Just Don't Trust Florida! A sunny place for shady people!

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
LEAPup
 

Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 4098

 

08-25-12 04:39 AM


Quote from chrisacosta00:

So I recently went through an interview with WTS PTG here in Miami. I'm guessing they are a relatively new office since I have yet to find anything online about them. I'm a bit concerned about how legit and how much its really worth my time to go through the training and find the money for it. I'm graduating now at the end of the year with a BA in Finance and Economics. I have no experience in trading or stocks aside from trading my own personal account. I would love to get some real world experience in the industry. These are the numbers they gave me.

200 a month desk fees
325 one time Training and licensing fee (series 56)

Once licensed I would need to fund my account with 2000 and they give me 100,000 buying power. I was also told is .35 for every 1k trades.

Does this sound legit? Is the the norm when it comes to prop shops? I'm a student and I'm a bartender as my current job. $2525 isn't easy to come by. Please give me some feedback on what you think, or if anyone works for them that would be great also. Thank you



50:1bp? Lol!
I'd be leery...

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
Moderate
 

Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 584

 

08-25-12 08:20 AM

do you guys know of Stonehenge asset mgmt saw their ad on craiglist

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
LEAPup
 

Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 4098

 

08-25-12 02:43 PM


Quote from Moderate:

do you guys know of Stonehenge asset mgmt saw their ad on craiglist



The problem with what you're asking is the word Craigslist. Run away!

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
    Page 1 of 7:   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  
Post A Reply


Receive an email whenever a new post is added to this thread by subscribing to it.
 
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:
 

 

   Conduct Rules  -  Privacy Policy  -  Day Trader -  Day Trader Forum -  Best Trading Software -  Sitemap Copyright © 2013, Elite Trader. All rights reserved.    
 
WHILE YOU'RE HERE, TAKE A MINUTE TO VISIT SOME OF OUR SPONSORS:
Advantage Futures
Futures Brokerage & Clearing
AMP Global Clearing
Futures and FX Trading
Bright Trading
Professional Equities Trading
CTS
Futures Trading Software
DaytradingBias.com
Professional Trading Analytics
ECHOtrade
Professional Trading Firm
eSignal
Trading Software Provider
FXCM
Forex Trading Services
Global Futures
Futures, Options & FX Trading
Interactive Brokers
Pro Gateway to World Markets
JC Trading Group
Direct Access Trading
MB Trading
Direct Access Trading
MultiCharts
Trading Software Provider
NinjaTrader
Trading Software Provider
OANDA
Currency Trading
optionshouse
Option Trading & Education
Rithmic
Futures Trade Execution Platform
SpeedTrader
Direct Access Trading
SpreadProfessor
Spread Trading Instruction
thinkorswim by TD Ameritrade
Direct Access TradingAdvertisement
TradersStudio
System Building & Backtesting
Trading Technologies
Trading Software Provider
Trend Following
Trading Systems Provider