FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home

Forums > Trading for a Living > Career Trader > New Prop Trader Structure Question: Uncommon Setup

Old Aug 10th, 2012, 05:00 AM   #1
Bourbon84

So I am currently trading a futures prop trading account that is under the name of another trader. He splits 50/50 net P and L with the firm, and he pays me half of that.

I do all the trading but have no downside. I trade about 50 hours a week for this account. I work 30 hours a week doing operations at a hedge fund. I am also a part time student. I trade from a studio loft (so you can't the office is x% of the square footage).

I am making magnitudes more than I anticipated. This generated a few questions:

-What would you consider the best tax structure for this?
-Should I ask him to pay me as an employee or private contractor?
-Am I edible for trader tax status?
-What should I be deducting (30% of rent, internet (%?).

I'll be sitting down with a CPA in a few weeks, but just wanted to get ideas to overall tax strategy. Thanks so much!
Old Aug 10th, 2012, 09:32 AM   #2
bone
ET Sponsor

If you are doing this using futures, ask him to pay you on an IRS 1040, and get copies of the monthly brokerage statements as records for yourself. Whatever the hell you do, try to avoid getting paid on a W-2 and paying taxes on ordinary income for this income from your personal prop deal. I can tell you from personal experience that you can indeed get paid on a W-2 from your "real job", and also claim 1256 blended cap gains and take your itemized business deductions from the expenses you incurred in the course of trading that account as well.

1. Use IRS Form 6781 for Gains and Losses From Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles; those income figures go to:

2. IRS Schedule D ( Form 1040 ) for Capital Gains and Losses.