FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home

Forums > Technically Speaking > Order Execution > Devastating after hours trade...SCREWED!!

Old Jan 8th, 2012, 01:24 AM   #31
stock777

like the time I bought a $20 stock for 1 penny?

Ps Entering orders is a serious business, and there's risk in placing even test or fishing orders. Best not to enter orders that are just for fun, unless you're VERY careful about it.

Costly.

Old Jan 8th, 2012, 02:45 AM   #32
schemer

Quote:
Quote from gster210:

Hi all,

During AH Friday....I put in an order thru IB for ten dollars LESS than the current price of a stock I had shorted, that had risen...just to see if it would get hit...if someone really wanted it or mistyped.

So I type in 76.40 and checked it three times....even hit preview on IB...and see 76.40...I am POSITIVE.

So I execute and immediately my order gets hit at 86.40 and 86.65!!!!!!

Im really upset, as an engineer I have been trained to keep an eye on numbers. I would NOT have made this mistake and I know I DIDNT type in what they claim I did.

It doesn't matter if you are an engineer or rocket scientist or whatever, you are human. Humans make mistakes. Also, as an engineer, you should know that a 7 doesn't magically and randomly turn into a 8.

It sucks to have a loss like that, but don't blame it on IB changing your order.
Old Jan 8th, 2012, 03:06 AM   #33
Fractals 'R Us

I still don't get it. It seems like you submitted a limit sell order in a thin market and got matched and filled..
Old Jan 8th, 2012, 06:26 AM   #34
failed_trad3r

Quote:
Quote from NvrSettLe: