FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home

Forums > Technically Speaking > Automated Trading > Mechanical vs Neural trading systems

Old Nov 11th, 2007, 10:24 PM   #1
pandabear

Being a software engineer by profession and an avid trader, I believe automated trader is the holy grail.

Considering this I have been working on trading systems for a while but haven't been able to create a good intraday trading system (mechanical).

So recently I am considering a neural system would be a better approach to take.

So I guess what I want to ask is the following:

1. Do consistently profitable mechanical trading systems exists? (I am sure they do but does anyone here run one?)
2. What more profitable for the longer term? Mechanical or a neural system?

Finally, I think I am in grave need of mentor ship from someone who has or does develop a mechanical/neural trading system on a ongoing basis. What I offer in return is someone whose passionate about the financial markets and someone whose known to offer a different but valid point of view every know and then.

Thanks
Old Nov 12th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #2
MarkBrown

mechanical is better - i just know it is cant tell you why - cause i dont want to set here and type that much. mb

anyway you are at the fork, pick the wrong way and its a long haul back, in fact most people i know never make it back.
Old Nov 12th, 2007, 08:21 PM   #3
rcanfiel

Quote:
Quote from pandabear:

Being a software engineer by profession and an avid trader, I believe automated trader is the holy grail.

Considering this I have been working on trading systems for a while but haven't been able to create a good intraday trading system (mechanical).

So recently I am considering a neural system would be a better approach to take.

So I guess what I want to ask is the following:

1. Do consistently profitable mechanical trading systems exists? (I am sure they do but does anyone here run one?)
2. What more profitable for the longer term? Mechanical or a neural system?