FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home
 
    Forums > Main > Options > How much time does an option trade to fill?


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 6th, 2012, 12:07 PM   #1
nobodye2
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Hi, i'm a newbie looking to give money to the market . i've been in a simulator trading options the last few months with pretty good results. And yesterday was the first time that i daytraded options. I bought 90 AMZN puts with expiration on 7 this month, at 0.56 (stock at 247.3+ i think), and sold them at 0.92 (stock close to 245.65). A pretty good trade, =). But i wonder if it was reallistic. I mean, there was good volume at that moment, 2000 something, and i find out the best moment looking at intraday charts. The price of options was delayed by 15 min (i look at google finance that is less delayed than the simulator i use it looks), so i had that in mind too when placing the order. i had a 45 min window to sell in a really good profit. In real trading conditions could i have done that?, the order would have been filled?

So the question is that, and that of the title, on stock brokers online like ameritrade, etrade, etc. I know it depends on volume, so im talking in stock with good options volume and open interest, like goog, appl, spy, fb, etc. And dont think that i pretend to daytrade options, it looks pretty risky for me, but im just curious.
    Quote
Old Sep 6th, 2012, 02:57 PM   #2
diaoptions
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 392
RE: How much time does an option trade to fill?

That's sort of a tongue twister. This is a well known tongue twister: "How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood? "

    Quote
Old Sep 6th, 2012, 03:04 PM   #3
nobodye2
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
the question was: how much time takes an option trade to fill?...you know what i mean by that!

Sorry for my english...
    Quote
Old Sep 6th, 2012, 04:02 PM   #4
diaoptions
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 392
Quote:
Quote from nobodye2:

the question was: how much time takes an option trade to fill?
Faster than it takes you to submit a post to ET. Unless you try and nickel and dime them with a limit order between the bid/ask spread, that can be penny wise pound foolish at times.

    Quote
Old Sep 6th, 2012, 04:51 PM   #5
nobodye2
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Thank you diaoptions. In the case of the simulator i placed a market order. Lets say the bid was 0.92, ask 0.97, i've would get maybe less than 0.92 sellng the 90 options in real life?. If i would had placed a limit order, lets say 0.85, and bid was 0.92 and ask 0.97 for about 15 min. Same question, I could have sold all 90 of my options at 0.92?, i assume it depends on how much people bids at 0.92? . Or market makers would take it?, specially bearing in mind that its not that much money
    Quote
Old Sep 7th, 2012, 09:01 AM   #6
noob_trad3r
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,741
I have had orders take about 1-2 hours to fill.

(Limit orders)
    Quote
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump



   Conduct Rules   Privacy Policy   Sitemap Copyright © 2014, Elite Trader. All rights reserved.   

WHILE YOU'RE HERE, TAKE A MINUTE TO VISIT SOME OF OUR SPONSORS:
Advantage Futures
Futures Trading & Clearing
AMP Global Clearing
Futures and FX Trading
Collective2
Automated Trading Services
CTS
Futures Trading Software
dom993trading.com
NinjaTrader Consulting
eSignal
Trading Software Provider
FXCM
Forex Trading Services
Global Futures
Futures, Options & FX Trading
Interactive Brokers
Pro Gateway to World Markets
JC Trading Group
Direct Access Trading
MB Trading
Direct Access Trading
NinjaTrader
Trading Software Provider
optionshouse
Option Trading & Education
Rithmic
Futures Trade Execution Platform
SpeedTrader
Direct Access Trading
SpreadProfessor
Spread Trading Instruction
thenut-trader.com
FX, Gold, & Stock Signals
TradersStudio
System Building & Backtesting
Tradier
Equity and Options Trading
Trading Technologies
Trading Software Provider