HOME FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE BOOKS CONTACT US
Elite Trader Your Account  •  Become a Member  •  Help  •  Search    
    Forums ›› Trading for a Living ›› Career Trader ›› Mercenary Funding to $10m for traders  


Post A Reply
    
marketsurfer
 

Registered: Apr 2002
Posts: 5416

 

08-02-12 02:07 PM

Caught this ad on elite trader. Mercenary Funding, sounds a little frightening-- but intriguing, can anyone provide color on this program---

http://www.mercenarytrader.com/funding/

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
Brass
 

Registered: Jan 2012
Posts: 3509

 

08-02-12 02:25 PM

Why frightening? Isn't that something you do as well?

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
marketsurfer
 

Registered: Apr 2002
Posts: 5416

 

08-02-12 02:29 PM


Quote from Brass:

Why frightening? Isn't that something you do as well?



My way is kind and gentle.

Ever accept funding from a mercenary?

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
darkhorse
 

Registered: Feb 2002
Posts: 3473

 

08-02-12 02:57 PM

Well, it's not from us directly per se...

As traders ourselves, we've built up a pretty extensive contact network over the years, including capital allocators, prime brokerage providers, prop desk managers, family office managers, high net worth investors etc.

The funding opportunity is from a capital allocator we know and trust who funds traders professionally and also handles upstream introductions for them.

Their ultimate goal is to find the next emerging manager who starts with a couple hundred k, gets a bump into the millions with the allocation program, and then makes it into the institutional end zone with $50MM, $100MM, more etc.

The allocator -- who is a bit publicity shy, and busy -- has asked us to provide introductions for them, which we are happy to do as we further build out our own network of fellow traders. The revenues we get aside from our own trading activities allow us to fund new market research, trading dev software projects (some big stuff in the works there), and other things. Plus it's just a hell of a lot of fun.

Bottom line, it's a legit program and not some funky loss leader... the allocator will scrutinize your track record to be sure, and they will want you to take risks as well (to show you're serious), but their end goal is to find successful traders who they can first stake on allocation terms, then later make a traditional investment in, and final stage get them institutionally capitalized.

There's no risk to kicking the tires either, other than a couple phone conversations... assuming there's a track record worth talking about...

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
marketsurfer
 

Registered: Apr 2002
Posts: 5416

 

08-02-12 03:02 PM

Makes sense, good luck to you!

surf

    Edit/Delete Quote Complain
    
Post A Reply


Receive an email whenever a new post is added to this thread by subscribing to it.
 
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:
 

 

   Conduct Rules  -  Privacy Policy  -  Day Trader -  Day Trader Forum -  Best Trading Software -  Sitemap Copyright © 2013, Elite Trader. All rights reserved.    
 
WHILE YOU'RE HERE, TAKE A MINUTE TO VISIT SOME OF OUR SPONSORS:
Advantage Futures
Futures Brokerage & Clearing
AMP Global Clearing
Futures and FX Trading
Bright Trading
Professional Equities Trading
CTS
Futures Trading Software
DaytradingBias.com
Professional Trading Analytics
ECHOtrade
Professional Trading Firm
eSignal
Trading Software Provider
FXCM
Forex Trading Services
Global Futures
Futures, Options & FX Trading
Interactive Brokers
Pro Gateway to World Markets
JC Trading Group
Direct Access Trading
MB Trading
Direct Access Trading
MultiCharts
Trading Software Provider
NinjaTrader
Trading Software Provider
OANDA
Currency Trading
optionshouse
Option Trading & Education
Rithmic
Futures Trade Execution Platform
SpeedTrader
Direct Access Trading
SpreadProfessor
Spread Trading Instruction
thinkorswim by TD Ameritrade
Direct Access TradingAdvertisement
TradersStudio
System Building & Backtesting
Trading Technologies
Trading Software Provider
Trend Following
Trading Systems Provider