FORUMS BROKERS SOFTWARE
Home
 
    Forums > Tools of the Trade > Backup and Security > Fat finger mistake got typo squatted on brand new system.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 19th, 2012, 08:42 PM   #7
WinstonTJ
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,042
DeltaSpread, I'll say this. I think you are being overly paranoid and have nothing to worry about but since the OS is only a few days (or hours) old on the install, it may be worth your mental sanity to just bite the bullet and reinstall. It stinks but it's better now than a few months from now.

No idea what the website was that you ended up being redirected to but you should be OK unless you clicked and downloaded something.
    Quote
Old Jul 19th, 2012, 10:55 PM   #8
Wallace
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,142
out of curiosity, just how much info can a site obtain about a visitor, even when it's only
a single visit and there's no interaction - clicks on the site ?

could a 'theft' site obtain a visitor's computer id and then monitor that computer so that
in the future they could obtain passwords, account numbers etc at a later date ?

but don't financial sites including brokers only accept transactions based on the id of
the original computer - a transaction won't be accepted if made on another computer ?
or is there a workaround for That ?
    Quote
Old Jul 20th, 2012, 12:03 AM   #9
BlueTurtle
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 569
Sell this system for pennies!!!!! It has been totally compromised, but i'll use it and deal with all this massive burden.

I'm amazed anyone is this paranoid...but i'll try to be "helpful"

I use CCleaner to wipe stuff. use it to wipe history, and do like a 3 wipe of your free disk space. it's free via cnet.

then use avira antivirus and do a scan. that thing works well.

maybe even download a p2p blocker and so you can see other IP addresses.

i am 99.9999999999999999999999999999999999999999% sure you are 100% fine
    Quote
Old Dec 30th, 2012, 02:15 PM   #10
SeventhCereal
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 195
are you for real? you are overreacting tremendously.
    Quote
Old Dec 30th, 2012, 03:06 PM   #11
sprstpd
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,571
Are you going to reformat every time you mistype a web address?
    Quote
Old Dec 30th, 2012, 04:28 PM   #12
sculptor66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 257
And I thought I were paranoid.

It's extremely unlikely that an OS X system is compromised the first time you visit a suspicous site. To my knowledge, all OS X malware out there in the wild are trojans, and they can not install by themselves without user interaction (confirmation). And there's only a handful of them.
    Quote
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump



   Conduct Rules   Privacy Policy   Sitemap Copyright © 2014, Elite Trader. All rights reserved.   

WHILE YOU'RE HERE, TAKE A MINUTE TO VISIT SOME OF OUR SPONSORS:
Advantage Futures
Futures Trading & Clearing
Alpha 7 Trading Academy
Proprietary Trading Education
AMP Global Clearing
Futures and FX Trading
Bright Trading
Professional Equities Trading
CTS
Futures Trading Software
DaytradingBias.com
Professional Trading Analytics
ECHOtrade
Professional Trading Firm
eSignal
Trading Software Provider
FXCM
Forex Trading Services
Global Futures
Futures, Options & FX Trading
Interactive Brokers
Pro Gateway to World Markets
JC Trading Group
Direct Access Trading
MB Trading
Direct Access Trading
MultiCharts
Trading Software Provider
NinjaTrader
Trading Software Provider
OANDA
Currency Trading
optionshouse
Option Trading & Education
Rithmic
Futures Trade Execution Platform
SpeedTrader
Direct Access Trading
SpreadProfessor
Spread Trading Instruction
thinkorswim by TD Ameritrade
Direct Access TradingAdvertisement
TradersStudio
System Building & Backtesting
Trading Technologies
Trading Software Provider
Trend Following
Trading Systems Provider