Elite Trader

Elite Trader (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/index.php)
-   Hardware (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Latency and Ping Tests (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?t=135215)

listedguru Sep 1st, 2008 11:24 AM

Latency and Ping Tests
 
Can anyone recommend some good latency and ping tests to test out my connection here? I want to compare it to a relatives cable internet connection. Can I ping sites like yahoo, etc to compare results? How can I test for packet loss, etc? I'm on AT&T's Uverse VDSL connection and it seems 'stuck' at times..

-Guru

wareco Sep 1st, 2008 11:32 AM

http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread...er#post2024131

listedguru Sep 1st, 2008 10:55 PM

Timing out
 
What does it mean if something keeps timing out over the first few hops when I run a tracert to an IP address? Is something wrong with my connection? My time (in ms) seems fine but I keep seeing these timeouts...

-Guru

kiwi_trader Sep 1st, 2008 10:58 PM

It depends.

It might be that the router concerned doesn't want to respond to the number of pings its getting (not a problem because it doesn't affect its routing).

It might be that there is a bad link which is causing the timeouts which is a problem. If there is a bad link though you should be seeing variability in the ping times to the routers further along the path.

listedguru Sep 2nd, 2008 11:36 AM

Quote:

Quote from kiwi_trader:

It depends.

It might be that the router concerned doesn't want to respond to the number of pings its getting (not a problem because it doesn't affect its routing).

It might be that there is a bad link which is causing the timeouts which is a problem. If there is a bad link though you should be seeing variability in the ping times to the routers further along the path.

I pretty much get the same numbers (ms) everytime I run the trace test - also I'm seeing the request timed out along the same hops everytime. Not sure if this is bad or not? I'm not seeing any of my ping times over 50ms (I guess thats good). I'm going to test these numbers against a relatives cable internet connection (I'm on AT&T's Uverse)...

-Guru

Landis82 Sep 2nd, 2008 05:20 PM

Your fine as long as the "time-outs" that you see come AFTER you reach the server address of your destination.

Normally, you have very low numbers on your local network for the first 8-9 "hops" and then you head out on the Internet-Superhighway where you then will see several hops to your final destination ( perhaps in the 80's or 90s ).

Any "time-outs" that you see AFTER that final destination of your trading/quote server are absolutely meaningless!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.