Elite Trader

Elite Trader (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/index.php)
-   Trading Software (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   DDE to Excel to new formula back to chart? (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?t=127760)

ang_99 May 23rd, 2008 05:24 PM

DDE to Excel to new formula back to chart?
 
Say you have some quotes linked to excel through DDE or OLE.

Then you make some new formula using the streaming quotes to come up with a new value or your own indicator of sorts.

How can I get this new changing value plotted onto a chart from excel?

Any software that can do this? I don't believe excel charts have any way to plot a changing value onto a chart like a stock chart.. or can it?

Bernoulli May 23rd, 2008 06:10 PM

Have you tried it?

In general a chart is linked to a data range: change the data in the range and the chart changes.

DDE is a curse for anyone trying to manipulate real time data in Excel. If you can use an activeX control to get your data, you'll have more flexibilty in capturing and using realtime data.

ang_99 May 23rd, 2008 06:23 PM

I don't follow.. My value is in one cell and there is no range of values.

Its just one cell with one number in it thats constantly changing.

I want to plot this on a chart. time/y-axis value/x-axis.

EdgeHunter May 23rd, 2008 07:23 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Plotting a chart inside excel from changing excel values is possible but fraught with frustration...

We use DDE / RTD spreadsheets all day every day to help trade the NAZ Futures and ES Futures... by building custom indicators on these indexes that give an internal read on the those futures derived from indicators on these indexes...

Our DDE sheet has 600 symbols on it (500 spx stocks and 100 NDX stocks) and from that we build formulas that chart SP500 indicators and NDX indicators by throwing the summed data (every two seconds using a VBA windows timer event) from EXCEL 2007 to Sierra Charts as the real time charting app...

We have the Advance Decline for the SP500 and NAZ 100... updating every two seconds..

We Have The Trin for both updating every two seconds...

We have the index total Volume and total volume difference (advancing stock volume minus declining stock volume) updating for both every two seconds.

We have the money flow for both indexes updating every two seconds...

We have the average net change (add up all net changes for every stock and divide by 500 to derive depth of commitment to change in the market) for both indexes updating every two seconds..

works fine... not a holy grail but much more helpful then watching the dis-information provided by the NYSE indicators...

here is a snapshot image of todays sp500 index indicators... charted from Excel into Sierra charts...updated every two seconds...

<img src="http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/attachment.php?s=&postid=1932958">

teun May 23rd, 2008 07:27 PM

Quote:

Quote from ang_99:

I don't follow.. My value is in one cell and there is no range of values.

Its just one cell with one number in it thats constantly changing.

I want to plot this on a chart. time/y-axis value/x-axis.

When you just want to use plain Excel, the only possibility is to use iteration...

maxpi May 23rd, 2008 07:48 PM

I should get Sierracharts. It has an excel-like part that is integrated with the charts, cleverest thing I've seen in a long time, I haven't used it in years but when I did it was too cool.....


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.